Faculty of Performance, Visual Arts and Communications

School of Music


Adolf Brodsky

b. Taganrog, Russia (Rostov oblast), 21st March, 1851. d. Manchester, 22nd January, 1929

Teacher: Josef Hellmesberger (1860-6)


  • Brahms
  • Tchaikovsky (gave first performance of Tchaikovsky Concerto in 1881, and was an early exponent of the Brahms Concerto),
  • Grieg (first performance of his C minor Sonata with the composer as pianist),
  • Elgar,
  • Ferdinand Laub,
  • Hans Sitt,
  • Joachim,
  • Carl Reinecke,
  • Alexander Siloti,
  • Eugen D'Albert,
  • Hans Richter,
  • Hans von Bülow,
  • Walter Damrosch,
  • Charles Hallé,
  • Thomas Beecham,
  • Hamilton Harty.

Biographer: E Zaltsberg: Great Russian Musicians (Oakville, Ontario, 2002).

See also: G. Thomason: 'The Brodsky Archives at the RNCM', Brio, 22/2 (1985),pp. 46-49.

Professional Appointments: Violinist in Imperial Opera Orchestra, Vienna (1868) Second Professor of violin, Moscow Conservatoire (1875) Professor of violin, Leipzig Conservatoire, (1882) Leader, Dmarosch Orchestra, New York (1892) Leader, Hallé Orchestra (1895-6) Violin Professor, Royal Manchester College of Music (1895) Principal, Royal Manchester College of Music (1896?-1929)

Chamber Ensembles: Second violin in Hellmesberger Quartet (1867) Brodsky Quartet, Leipzig (1882-92). Other members: Ottokar Novácek, then Hans Becker (second violin), Hans Sitt, Novacek (viola), Carl Schroeder, then Julius Klengel (cello) Brodsky Quartet, Manchester (1895-192?). Rawdon Briggs (vln. 2) (after 1920 John Briggs, then Alfred Barker), Simon Speelman (vla) (after 1920 Frank Park, then Helen Rawdon Briggs), Carl Fuchs (cello)apart from the period 1915-1925, when Walter Hatton was cellist.

Pupils: Arthur Catterall, John Lawson, Anton Maaskoff, Alfred Barker, Lena Kontorovich.


Beethoven: Sonatas for violin and piano (complete) (Schirmer, 1894).